Useful Links

Useful Links

The Howard Partnership Trust (THPT) is a Surrey based Multi-Academy Trust, comprising 4 secondary and 6 primary phase schools. We are proud of our ethos of collaboration and inclusion, "Bringing out the best" in students of all abilities and backgrounds. Visit website

Part of The Howard Partnership Trust

Information Technology


Certificate in Digital Applications (CiDA) Level 2

Exam Board



The Pearson Edexcel Level 2 Certificate in Digital Applications has been designed to teach digital design skills and enable young people to use digital tools to express their creativity in an informed and responsible way. It aims to equip young people with the knowledge, understanding and skills they need to design and make effective digital products for others to use, and to support future learning and exploit the creative digital industries. The qualification has been developed to reflect the increasing use of creative digital computing in everyday life, with greater emphasis on creative design and development. 


The Level 2 Certificate in Digital Applications is separated into two Units. One of the units is mandatory, the other is an optional unit. The CiDA course is taught over 120 GLH (Guided Learning Hours). 

Unit 1 - Developing Web Products (Mandatory unit)

This unit acknowledges the increasingly significant role of the world wide web in everyday life. It develops the skills and knowledge needed to produce effective web authoring and evaluation skills. Using web authoring software such as Dreamweaver students will learn to plan, design and create functional, exciting and inspiring websites. Students will also learn how develop websites using mark up and programming languages such as HTML and JavaScript. 

Unit 2 - Creative Multimedia (Optional unit)

This unit requires students to design, build, test and evaluate multimedia products using a variety of assets such as video, sound, images and text. Students will learn how to create, film and edit digital video, create animations and use photo editing software. 


Students will be awarded a grade A*-C based on the combined total of each unit (Unit 1 and Unit 2). 

  • Unit 1 is assessed externally by a practical 2 hour 30 minute exam set by Edexcel
  • Unit 2 is assessed internally in the form of coursework assignments 



Post-16 Choices

ICT as a subject opens many doors whether it be in industry or further education. We offer the continuation of ICT and digital literacy skills through the Level 3 BTEC in Information Technology. The Edexcel Level 3 BTEC in Information Technology course is a mixture of both examination and coursework based assessment.

This qualification provides a broad and solid foundation for further study of various aspects of creative computing, such as graphic design, web design, computer games design and interactive media. It supports progress to further study, including:

GCE in Media: Communication and Production, Level 3 BTECs in Creative Media Production and Level 3 Principal Learning in Creative and Media.

It also enhances young people’s overall digital literacy and gives them a solid foundation for further study and employment.



Staff Contacts

Mr L Turner -
Mr T Edwards -